Tuesday, April 10, 2012

The Last Olympian

The Last Olympian, the fifth and final book in the Percy Jackson series, was released on May 5, 2009.

Percy Jackson learns Kronos' forces are preparing to attack Olympus. Seeking to defeat Kronos, Percy bathes in the River Styx, to make his body mostly invulnerable. Kronos leads a siege of New York City and puts its citizens to sleep. Percy leads the campers, Hunters, nature spirits, and centaurs to protect Mount Olympus from Kronos and his forces. While they protect Olympus, the gods are holding off Typhon as he makes his way to New York. Kronos, possessing Luke's body, forces his way into Olympus and he and Percy battle in Olympus' throne room. Typhon reaches New York but is defeated. Luke is able to overcome Kronos, and Annabeth, realizing the meaning of the great prophecy, tells Percy to give Luke her knife. Percy does, and Luke stabs himself in his mortal spot to destroy Kronos and save Mt. Olympus. The gods reward Percy and his friends, they offer him immortality but he refuses, but they grant him one request. He requests the gods to claim all their children. Rachel becomes the oracle and reads the next great prophecy. At the end Percy and Annabeth make their relationship official.

The Battle of the Labyrinth

The Battle of the Labyrinth is the fourth installment in the series. It was released on May 6, 2008.

After being attacked by monsters, Percy returns to Camp Half-Blood and learns about the labyrinth. During an exercise, Annabeth and Percy find an entrance into the Labyrinth in camp. Percy soon learns that Luke had used the entrance and will lead his army through the Labyrinth straight into the heart of camp. Annabeth is chosen to lead a quest to prevent it. While in the labyrinth, Percy and Annabeth become separated from Grover and Tyson. They encounter Nico, who begins to forgive Percy. Percy accidentally causes St. Helens to erupt and lands on Calypso's Island. He returns and he and Annabeth recruit Rachel Dare to be a guide in the Labyrinth. Daedalus is shown to be alive and to have given Ariadne's string to Luke. They find Grover and Tyson and discover Pan, but he soon dies. They witness Kronos' return and flee to camp. Kronos' forces attack the camp but are repulsed. After the battle, Daedalus sacrifices himself to destroy the Labyrinth, as it's tied to his life.

The Titan's Curse

The Titan's Curse is the third installment in the series. It was released on May 1, 2007.

Percy, Annabeth, and Thalia are sent to rescue two half-bloods, Bianca and Nico. While on this mission, they are attacked by a manticore, but are saved by the Hunters of Artemis. Annabeth is taken captive when the manticore flees. The Hunters, Percy, Thalia, and Grover are sent to camp by Artemis and Apollo. Artemis is soon taken captive and a quest is issued. Grover, Thalia, Bianca and Zoë Nightshade, Artemis's lieutenant, go to rescue Artemis. Percy follows and soon joins the quest. Bianca is killed while facing an automaton. They learn that the Titan Atlas has escaped and was behind the kidnapping of Artemis. Atlas is defeated and returned to holding the sky, but Zoe is killed. Thalia replaces Zoë as Artemis' lieutenant during the gods' summit.

Thalia's induction as a lieutenant of Artemis ensures that she never reaches 16, thus escaping the prophecy but leaving Percy as the only one who can fulfill it. They return to camp and Percy informs Nico about Bianca's death. He blames Percy, accusing him of failing to protect her and runs away. Percy learns that the underworld god, Hades, is Nico's father.

The Sea of Monsters

The Sea of Monsters is the second installment in the series, released on May 3, 2006.

On Percy's last day of school, he and his friend and soon to be brother Tyson are attacked by giants. Annabeth appears and saves them before leaving for camp.When they arrive Percy learns that the tree protecting the camp is dying and Chiron has been fired. If the tree fully dies then the camp boarders wont be protected and more Monsters will start attacking them.This will continue unless they find another way to protect the camp borders or the camp will be overrun by monsters. To save the tree, a quest is given to find the Golden Fleece.

Clarisse La Rue, a daughter of Ares, is given the quest to find the Golden Fleece. Percy, Annabeth, and Tyson sneak off, not just for the Golden Fleece, but to find their friend Grover Underwood. They meet Luke on his ship but are able to escape. They soon join with Clarrise on her quest. Her ship is destroyed passing through the Sea of Monsters and Annabeth and Percy continue their search for Grover after becoming separated from the others. After encountering the sirens and Circe, Annabeth and Percy reach the Polyphemus' cave. They are able to rescue Grover and Clarrise and Tyson helps defeats Polyphemus. They recover the fleece and head to Miami. Clarisse heads to camp and the others are captured by Luke. They are about to be killed before Chiron rescues them and takes them to camp. The fleece is able to save the tree, but it also revives Thalia, whose spirit was in the tree.

The Lighting Thief

The Lightning Thief is the first book in the series. It was released on June 28, 2005.

Percy Jackson lives in New York with his mother, Sally Jackson. During a field trip to a museum, Percy is attacked by a Fury disguised as his math teacher, Mrs. Dodds, and he kills her with a sword given to him by Mr. Brunner, his Latin teacher. After Mrs. Dodds is killed, no one remembers knowing Mrs. Dodds. At the end of the school year, Percy heads home and his mother decides to take the two of them on a vacation. Percy's best friend Grover arrives and reveals himself as a satyr. Percy tells him about Mrs. Dodds while his mom races them to Camp Half-Blood. While heading to the camp, they are attacked by the minotaur. His mother is taken captive before Percy can kill the Minotaur. He passes out and when he wakes, he finds himself in the camp. He meets his former Latin teacher, Mr. Brunner, who turns out to be Chiron (a centaur), and Annabeth Chase (Daughter of Athena). Percy is soon claimed by his Olympian parent, Poseidon.

Later on he is accused of stealing Zeus's lighting bolt. Although Percy admits that he didn't do it, Zeus still accuses him. And if he doesn't prove Zeus wrong there will be a massive war between the Gods. Percy, Annabeth, and Grover are given a quest to retrieve Zeus' stolen lightning bolt as Zeus believes Percy stole it. After they get the quest, the trio initially believes Hades to be the thief and travel across the United States to Los Angeles, where they know the entrance to the underworld is, facing numerous mythological monsters, including Medusa, Echidna, and the Furies. In the end, they learn the real thief was Luke (Son of Hermes), a camper who'd befriended Percy when he first arrived at camp. Luke stole the bolt to allow Kronos the chance to rise again.